Originally when OCEANS was founded, the European Commission had designated that members had to have participated in one of several bilateral Exchange Programmes with North America and the Asia-Pacific Region, namely Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and the USA.


The reason was that they aimed at promoting better relations between their citizens, and improving understanding of cultures, languages and institutions. The programmes were designed to facilitate the acquisition of skills needed for the global knowledge-based economy. 

However, in 2016 OCEANS opened up its membership to anyone who has participated in a credit mobility programme that met the following qualification.


The person must have received university credits from their home university that was in an Erasmus+ Programme country and International Mobility Credits from a university in an Erasmus+ Partner country. 


Or vice-versa, meaning a person is eligible to be an OCEANS member if they attended university in an Erasmus+ Partner country and received International Mobility Credits from a university in an Erasmus+ Programme country.


In simple terms, if you studied at two different universities on two different continents (with one of them in a European Erasmus+ Programme country) then you qualify to join OCEANS.

So if you are eligible, then you can...


Become a part of this vibrant Network!

[Work in progress!]

Our new Community platform is currently under development and is expected to be online in April 2019!

In the meantime please join us on our Facebook group “OCEANS Going Global” or contact us through service(at)oceans-network(dot)eu.

Thank you!





Erasmus+ Programme Countries Map (click to expand)



Erasmus+ Partner Countries Map (click to expand)

Student Guide

The Guide for the EU co-operations with the industrialised countries has been updated.
This Student Guide is envisaged to assist you throughout the whole period of your involvement in one of the many mobility projects between the EU on one side and six industrialised countries cooperating on a bilateral basis with the EU in the field of higher education on the other side: Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea and the USA. This Guide aims to provide information from the very beginning when you want to find out more about the programme, to the moment when you get ready to return home after having successfully finished your studies abroad. You can download the PDF document here.